Laura Linney Kathy Bates Maggie Smith Dublin Berlin Hungary film classical awards Sony google Latin Enterprise Laura Linney Kathy Bates Maggie Smith Dublin Berlin Hungary

2023 Berlin Prize Winner ‘The Teachers’ Lounge’ Acquired By Sony Pictures Classics

Reading now: 260

Sony Pictures Classics has picked up all rights in North America, Latin America and European Europe (excluding Hungary) to the Ilker Çatak drama The Teachers’ Lounge, which won both the Europa Cinemas Label award and the CICAE Arthouse Cinema award at this year’s Berlin Film Festival.

The news comes just a day after the SPC acquisition announcement for The Miracle Club, a Dublin-shot feature starring Laura Linney, Maggie Smith and Kathy Bates.

Çatak’s fourth feature The Teachers’ Lounge watches as dedicated sports and math teacher Carla Nowak (The White Ribbon‘s Leonie Benesch) starts her first job at a school.

She stands out among the new staff because of her idealism. And when a series of thefts occur at the school and one of her students is suspected, she decides to get to the bottom of the matter on her own.

The website is an aggregator of news from open sources. The source is indicated at the beginning and at the end of the announcement. You can send a complaint on the news if you find it unreliable.

Related News